Hugh Benson

(Ph.D., Michigan), George Lynn Cross Research Professor; Samuel Roberts Noble Presidential Professor; Ancient Philosophy, Epistemology. LGBTQ Ally.* hbenson@ou.edu

Monte Cook

(Ph.D., Iowa), Professor; History of Modern Philosophy, Metaphysics. mcook@ou.edu

Steve Ellis

(Ph.D., Rutgers), Associate Professor and Graduate Liaison; Decision Theory, Philosophy of Economics, Philosophy of Mind, Ethics. LGBTQ Ally.*

Sherri Irvin

(Ph.D., Princeton), Presidential Research Professor of Philosophy and Women's and Gender Studies, Co-Director of the Center for Social Justice; Aesthetics, Philosophy of Race. LGBTQ Ally.*

Neal Judisch

(Ph.D., Texas), Associate Professor; Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind and Action, Philosophy of Religion.

Martin Montminy

(Ph.D., Montreal), Professor; Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Metaphysics.

Amy Olberding

(Ph.D., Hawai'i), President's Associates Presidential Professor; Early Chinese Philosophy, Ethics.

Matt Priselac

(Ph.D., North Carolina), Assistant Professor; History of Modern Philosophy.

Wayne D. Riggs

(Ph.D., North Carolina), Professor and Chair; Epistemology, Value Theory. LGBTQ Ally* and Green Zone.**

Edward Sankowski

(Ph.D., Cornell), Professor; Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, Philosophy of Education, Aesthetics.

Zev Trachtenberg

(Ph.D., Columbia), Associate Professor; Social and Political Philosophy, Environmental Political Theory, Rousseau.

Linda Zagzebski

(Ph.D., UCLA), Kingfisher College Chair of the Philosophy of Religion and Ethics; George Lynn Cross Research Professor; Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Epistemology.

Affiliate Faculty

Brian Chance (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania), Affiliate Faculty; Kant, History of Modern Philosophy. brianchance@ou.edu

Greg Heiser (Ph.D., Penn State; J.D., University of Oklahoma), Affiliate Faculty; Associate Provost and Director of Academic Integrity Programs; Philosophy of Law, Applied Ethics, Continental Philosophy. gheiser@ou.edu

Jeffrey Purinton (Ph.D. in Classics, Princeton), Adjunct Lecturer; Ancient Philosophy, Ethics. 


Retired Faculty

Neera Badhwar

(Ph.D., Toronto), Professor Emeritus; Ethics, Moral Psychology, Political Philosophy, International Ethics. nbad@ou.edu

Reinaldo Elugardo

(Ph.D., Western Ontario), Professor Emeritus; Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language. relugardo@ou.edu

James Hawthorne

(Ph.D., Minnesota), Professor; Formal Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics, Formal Logic, Artificial Intelligence.

Kenneth R. Merrill

(Ph.D., Northwestern), Professor Emeritus; History of Modern Philosophy, American Philosophy, Whitehead. kmerrill@ou.edu

Chris Swoyer

(Ph.D., Minnesota), Professor Emeritus & Affiliated Professor ofCognitive Psychology; Philosophy of Psychology & Social Science, Applied Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science. Sooner Ally.*cswoyer@ou.edu

*LGBTQ Allies

Faculty with this distinction are trained resource and support people for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning members of the OU community.  They are available for confidential discussions with anyone who has needs or concerns.

**Green Zone

The OU Green Zone is a network of faculty and staff who volunteer to take the extra step to provide assistance for those students who served our country. "OU deeply appreciates all that our veterans have done for our country, and we want to give them the warmest possible welcome when they come home to OU." - OU President David L. Boren